A reviewer is born: An intro to my veggie take on eateries in the Connecticut River Valley and beyond

For years I’ve thought that a newspaper in some large metro area should hire a vegetarian restaurant reviewer, and I fantasized about doing this as a freelancer in a smaller city.  Unfortunately, the newspaper industry is dying; fortunately, the internet is thriving, so reality meets fantasy in the form of a blog.  I’m a cranky 40-something who’s been a vegetarian for 25 years, loves to eat, used to love to cook, and enjoys reading good food writing.  When I was in my 20s, I worked part-time at a small vegetarian deli and natural foods bakery and volunteered at the local food co-op for six years, learning quite a bit about the industry, cooking, ingredients, and health.  I don’t claim to be an expert, but I do know tahini from tamari from tabouli.

I plan to review both veg places and those for omnivores, beginning in the Connecticut River Valley north of the Tofu Curtain, and branching out when I travel.  Expect to see at least brief reviews of a few places in Vermont; Colorado; Rochester, New York; and Buenos Aires, Argentina.

If you’re traveling and looking for vegetarian and vegan eateries, Happy Cow is a good resource:  http://www.happycow.net/

About springbyker

See more at: springbyker.wordpress.com. Feminist QBLTG Left activist grammarian & general crank. Love grassroots political movements, literature, independent film, travel in Latin America, bicycling, & good vegetarian food. I plan to write about all of these, plus being a recovering clutterer, writing, and saving the planet from suburban sprawl.
This entry was posted in Foodie, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

