A post-ette/Una tarjeta postal

I might post more often if I accepted that every article does not have to be a full-fledged essay. Or, to use an Argentine metaphor:  it doesn’t have to be the whole parilla; sometimes it’s just an alfajor.

Argentine parilla (mixed grill). Photo: copyright AbsolutViajes.

Argentine parilla (mixed grill).                             Photo: copyright AbsolutViajes.

But now that I think about it, I realize that this metaphor doesn’t work at all.  First, I’m a vegetarian posting smoking meat pictures on my blog.  Second, alfajores are complex cookies, and exceedingly labor-intensive to create at home.  I made them once, and cooking the dulce de leche alone took me five hours (I made a huge batch, with a couple of liters of milk).  The cookie dough takes a bit of time to make, and they’re rollouts, so the circles have to be cut and baked, and then sandwiched with the dulce de leche.

One of the best alfajores (dulce-de-leche-filled, chocolate-covered cookies) I've ever had. Photo by Springbyker on the border of Argentina and Chile.

One of the best alfajores (delightful, dulce-de-leche-filled, chocolate-covered cookies) I’ve ever had.                        Photo by Springbyker on the border of Argentina and Chile.

Another failed metaphor.  Sigh…

The empty parilla (barbeque grill), hostel in Mendoza. Photo by Springbyker.

The empty parilla (barbeque grill) at a hostel in Mendoza. Photo by Springbyker.

Podría escribir más posts para mi blog si yo aceptaría que cada artículo no necesita ser un ensayo hecho y derecho.  O sea, usar una metáfora argentina:  un post no tiene que ser la entera parilla; a veces es simplemente un alfajor.

Pero realmente, esta metáfora no sirve para nada.  Primero, soy vegetariana y estoy poniendo fotos en mi blog de un montón de carne.  En segundo lugar, alfajores son galletas complicadas – toma mucho tiempo hacer alfajores caseros.  Los hice hace dos años y tardé cinco horas en cocinar solamente el dulce de leche (hice una cacerola enorme, con un par de litros de leche).  Preparar la masa de las galletas se necesita un poco de tiempo, y tiene que estirarse con rodillo, hornear los círculos, y hacer sándwiches con el dulce de leche.

Otra metáfora fracasada.  Bueno…

About springbyker

See more at: springbyker.wordpress.com. Feminist QBLTG Left activist grammarian & general crank. Love grassroots political movements, literature, independent film, travel in Latin America, bicycling, & good vegetarian food. I plan to write about all of these, plus being a recovering clutterer, writing, and saving the planet from suburban sprawl.
This entry was posted in Argentina, Latin America, Travel, Uncategorized, Writing & language and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A post-ette/Una tarjeta postal

  1. stsalt says:

    Love your bilingual posts. Wish I was able to do that!

    • springbyker says:

      Thanks! It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a couple of years, but I’ve had too many projects on my platter! We’ll see, when my Spanish tutor returns from vacation, how many errors she finds… But I’ve read plenty of blogs written in English by those who write and speak it as a second language, and their posts aren’t perfect — just close enough!

Leave a comment